Newtown Rocksteady EP

by Newtown Rocksteady

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $10 NZD




Contact us on newtownrocksteady at gmail

Hailing from Newtown in Wellington, New Zealand, Newtown Rocksteady bring you their unique take on rocksteady reggae.

Newtown Rocksteady may be a dance band but its all about the soul for the 12 strong group, aligning their collective musical powers to conquer hills and plunder valleys and almost always sweeping their audiences away with their sheer guile.

But for here and now Newtown Rocksteady, with a collection of $300 microphones, has nailed down, recorded and independently released a slice of their sound. Get it before your friends think its cool!


released May 29, 2011

Track 1 & 3 written by Newtown Rocksteady, Tracks 2, 4 & 5 written by Andy Hoy & Newtown Rocksteady. Track 1 contains elements of 'Ramble' by Rico Rodriguez, Track 4 contains elements of 'Climb Up on My Music' by Sixto Rodriguez, Track 3 contains elements of 'Earthquake' by Jackie Mittoo.

Tim Key - Lead Guitar & Backing Vocals, Fynn Raoul - Rhythm Guitar, Mike Duffy - Bass, C Winwood - Vocals, Melodica, Jeremy Desmond - Organ & Rhodes & Backing Vocals, James Coyle - Organ (Track 3) & Rhodes (Track 6), Andy Hoy - Drum Kit, Fraser Mckenzie - Percussion & Backing Vocals, Thomas Owen - Alton Saxophone (Eb) & vocal verse (track 2), Matt Enright - Trumpet (Bb), Maz Hermon - Trombone (C)

Thank you to everyone involved, directly or indirectly, for your constant support, big up yourselves!

All tracks recorded, mixed and mastered by Andy Hoy in a flat in Newtown

Album Artwork by Ben Crotty

Copyright Newtown Rocksteady 2011



all rights reserved


Newtown Rocksteady Wellington, New Zealand

NEWTOWN ROCKSTEADY Debut Album is just around the corner!!

contact / help

Contact Newtown Rocksteady

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code